Bloody Bay

Sadly, I have returned to Calgary after an unforgettable week traveling around Jamaica. My experience in Jamaica was even better than I had hoped for. You have to know, I rarely feel the urge to return to a place I’ve already visited, but Jamaica is an exception. I think I’ll try to go back next year.

The last two-nights of my trip were spent in Negril, more specifically at the Breezes Grand Negril on Bloody Bay. This was by far my favourite spot – the resort is beautiful, the sand is soft and white and of course the water is crystal blue. Not to be left out – the staff, service and food were all fabulous.

What made Negril really stand out for me was the snorkeling trip from the resort. This was definitely one highlight of my time in Jamaica! Two of the water sports staff took us out on a boat, first to the Hedonism II beach (to pick up more people) and then off to a snorkeling site. Our guide was so great – he showed us how to use our equipment properly and he took us to different spots for some amazing underwater views. He even pointed out an anchor from the 1600’s as well as a canon. He always made sure we were okay and even took his own waterproof camera with him and snapped some pictures of us from under the water. A few times he held some bread in his hand and all the fish would gather around for a snack – this was great for photo ops! He really made our snorkeling trip extra special… not to mention the site was amazing with lots of different fish, plants and coral. I cannot wait to go back!

Here are a few of the pictures I took while snorkeling. I’m not the best underwater photographer ever, but I’ll make sure to get in some practice before I visit Greece.

Leave a Reply

