Head in the Clouds

Growing up, my parents would call me a Flower Child. I was always running around naked or talking to Zeus during thunder storms, dancing to my Mom’s old 45’s. My bedroom was painted with a mish-mash of symbols expressing my many and varied interests in life. I was a weird kid. “That Helen, she’s always got her head in the clouds.” I never once imagined that I might actually end up inside of a cloud. It was totally wicked!

Climbing clouds

I’m sitting on the balcony of our hotel room in Santorini, looking out over the cliffs enjoying the view. The water and the sky and the clouds….clouds? I haven’t seen a cloud for two weeks!  Strange, but I didn’t give it a second thought. Sipping my iced coffee, looking out, taking pictures of the islands and thinking,  “It’s so neat how quickly those clouds are climbing up the side the cliffs”. Wait… when did that happen?  Where did all of these cloud come from? Now that I was paying attention, I could see how fast these wispy threads of vapour were moving. I had never seen anything like this before, but then again, I did not grow up on the side of a steep rock.

My sister, brother-in-law and I are looking all around us, taking photos of these clouds crawling up along the face of Fira. Before we knew it, we were inside of the cloud. I could not see a thing beyond my feet (of which my toes were painted with the fitting shade of Santorini Sunset). How cool is this? I always thought you had to be riding in a hot air balloon to experience something like this. I was wrong. There I sat completely bewildered, enveloped within this Santorini Status. I’m going to have to find out exactly which Greek God was kind enough to favour us with that wonderful experience.

What a view!

One thought on “Head in the Clouds

Leave a Reply

